Welcome to my blog

I have created this site in order to provide performers, listeners and composers with a description of a composer's experiences with the creative process. The posts will provide discussions of the inspirations, challenges, and successes of a composer from the inception of the piece to the culmination in performance. I will provide a link to where you can see and hear the works in progress. Comments and questions are always welcomed. They will not posted unless you grant me permission.

Sunday, June 21, 2015

Emoticons Movement III

This is the third movement of my latest three-movement composition for tuba/euphonium quartet called Emoticons. It is being composed as a result of a commissioning consortium consisting of the Tarnished Brass - Rowlett, TX, the University of North Carolina - Greensboro, NC, the Triangle Tuba Quartet - Durham, NC, the University of Tennessee - Knoxville, TN, the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga - Chattanooga, TN, and Kansas State University - Manhattan, KS. More groups are welcome to the join the consortium as the deadline for expressing interest has been extended until June 30, 2015. For more information, please visit http://www.cooppress.net

The idea behind Emoticons is to symbolically represent emotions and this last movement is Euphoria. As you can see and hear, it is in a fast tempo and is in a rondo form ABACABA. The tonality is major with some borrowed chords to spice things up. There are frequent modulations to add variety to the tonality.

The A section is very rhythmic as it alternates meters of 6/8 with meters where the quarter note gets the beat. The eighth note remains constant throughout these meter changes. I used 2/8 instead of 1/4 because I thought it would be less confusing, but the 2/8 has one quarter note beat in it. Sudden shifts in dynamics are used in the A sections to add interest since the A section occurs four times.

The B sections also have meter changes but the quarter note beat dominates with an occasional 3/8 thrown in.

The C section is the central section and is in 4/4 time and more legato for contrast. It begins with the two tubas, then adds canons with the top three instruments while the 2nd tuba does a staccato accompaniment, and finally the melody appears in the 2nd euphonium while the other parts accompany. The A and B sections are primarily C major while the C section explores the mediant keys E major and Ab major, before moving to A major for the last statement.

Your comments are always appreciated.

Dr. B

No comments: