Welcome to my blog

I have created this site in order to provide performers, listeners and composers with a description of a composer's experiences with the creative process. The posts will provide discussions of the inspirations, challenges, and successes of a composer from the inception of the piece to the culmination in performance. I will provide a link to where you can see and hear the works in progress. Comments and questions are always welcomed. They will not posted unless you grant me permission.

Friday, June 6, 2014

Wonderland Movement 4

I have completed the 4th movement of this new composition for an ensemble of 3-5 instrumentalists. I am composing the piece for four unspecified instruments, one each in the soprano, alto, tenor, and bass ranges. This gives me flexibility in reducing the score for an ensemble of 3 instrumentalists or enlarging it for 5 instrumentalists. I can also combine lines and add harmony to accommodate a pianist within the group. I will customize the music for each of the participating ensembles in the commissioning consortium by varying the ranges, changing keys, changing articulation, and adjusting the balance as needed. For more information about joining the consortium, please go to http://www.cooppress.net/page9/index.html

The fourth movement is called the Mad Hatter and it musically tells the story of the Mad Tea Party. The movement just alternates two main ideas. The A sections are rhythmic, disjunct, and dissonant. The intervals of major 2nd, tritone, perfect 4th, and minor seventh are frequent used. The melodic lines are atonal. All this reflects the senseless riddles that the Hatter and the Hare pose to Alice. In addition, each time the A section returns, it is in a different key(?) reflecting the shifting of seats during the tea party. 

The B section is a short section where the descending, more sustained line represents the Dormouse falling asleep and the short outbursts from the other instruments represent the Hare and the Hatter waking him up. 

Even there is a lot of repetition of material, each repetition has its own subtle variation. See if you can pick them up.

I export my Sibelius Music Notation file as a movie (new to version 7.5). I also use Noteperformer software for the sounds. These are sample sounds, but the software also includes an algorithm that reads ahead in the music and phrases the music according to context, therefore making the realization closer to live performance. I  upload these videos to youtube and embed the video after the poetry for each movement. I hope that this technology allows the reader to have an easier experience and a more realistic performance. The sounds used in the movie are violin, clarinet, trombone, and tuba. To see and hear what I have discussed, go to http://www.cooppress.net/Wonderland_blog.html

As always, your comments are appreciated.
Dr. B

No comments: